Owning Your Own Time with Arcade City

Arcade City Driver Interview: Alex & Rafael (Part 1)

I sat down for a chat with Alex and Rafael, two of Arcade City Austin’s most experienced drivers. In the first part of this interview, we discuss what it’s like working as a rideshare driver and how being involved in the Arcade City community compares to working for companies like Uber and Lyft.

space.elf: How did you get into driving?

Alex: Well, I was an aspiring artist and I always wanted to find ways to expand my free time as much as humanly possible. I slowly realized that working 9-5 is not great if you want to do something else with your life. And I know many people who would agree with that.

Rafael: I like the freedom of time and being able to set my own schedule while still making $25- 30 an hour. I have two kids and need to be home early to take care of them.

Alex: Initially, I saw this new app called Lyft. This was in Austin in 2013 or 2014…I don’t remember exactly how, but I stumbled across it and thought, “what a great idea!” You know, they promised flexibility of time and you could be your own boss - an independent contractor. Everything that everybody wants to hear.

I had to 2 seater at the time. I sold it immediately and bought a car that fit their regulations. And I started driving. In the beginning, and I stress this was really just in the beginning, driving for Lyft was very good. It was an empowering feeling because I was making really good money and I was having really great interactions with my customers. There was a time when I even drove through a storm and that really sharpened my perception of what a community is supposed to look like - helping each other through these dangerous and scary situations when no other person would want to be out there. And yet there I was at three in the morning, picking people up in the middle of a storm.